In Mourning

New album 'Afterglow' coming May 20th

March 02, 2016

Our new album will be called Afterglow and it will be released by Agonia Records on May 20th. We are very happy and very proud to finally be able to release some further info on what we've been working on.


Further information and pre-orders are already up at Agonia Records website,



Quoted from Agonia Records news about the album:



Sweden's lauded melodic death/doom metallers and Agonia Records recent signess, IN MOURNING, have revealed details surronding their anticipated new album. Entitled "Afterglow", the opus will be released on May 20th, 2016. The cover artwork has been prepared by Kristian Wåhlin (Bathory, Tiamat, Amorphis, Dark Tranquillity).


IN MOURNING commented: "The new album is called "Afterglow" and its story takes off from where "The Weight Of Oceans" ends. It’s a bit more complex than our previous albums and it has got a bit of a different sound than the older ones, a bit more alive like a band and maybe not always as studio corrected as our earlier material. However, the foundation of the music is still what we’ve always done and the key elements are pretty much the same but with some new additions and a few new twists and turns of course".


This will be the first album featuring new drummer, Daniel Liljekvist (ex-Katatonia).


Hailed by many as the heir to Opeth's melodeath throne, IN MOURNING was formed in the Swedish woods in the year 2000. Since then the band has evolved over the years striving to refine its sound to what it is today. April 2012 marked the release of the bands third and latest album "The Weight Of Oceans", a mythology inspired conceptual story that journeys to the sea. Musically, the group blends a broad spectrum of influences into a foundation of melodic death metal. Thrusting from doomy metal-riffs, blasting drumbeats and deep growling vocals to calm breezes of clean flowing melodies and harmonies.


"Afterglow" has been recorded between November 2015 and March 2016 in Nordin Music Studios (drums) and Libra Studios (guitar, bass and vocals). Mixing and mastering duties have been handeled by Jonas Martinsson in Necrosavant Studio.



01. Fire And Ocean

02. The Grinning Mist

03. Ashen Crown

04. Below Rise To The Above

05. The Lighthouse Keeper

06. The Call To Orion

07. Afterglow


"Afterglow" will be available in the following formats:

- Digipack CD (with 12 pages booklet).

- Jewelcase CD (with 12 pages booklet).

- Regular Double Black LP.

- Double Orange Crush Transparent LP (handnumbered to 135 copies).

- Black T-shirt in two different versions.

- Digital formats."